No honorary degree to be awarded

Sign up for updated results

Convocation of the University of Mangalore 2019: The administration of the University of Mangalore has decided not to award any honorary titles during its graduation ceremony to be held on April 12. The effect of the ongoing general elections in the country can also be seen on the convening of the University of Mangalore this year. A note from the governor’s office said there would be no honorary graduation this year. The University of Mangalore will host the 37th annual graduation ceremony today, April 12, 2019. The ceremony will take place in the Mangala auditorium of the university.

This year, no honorary degree will be awarded to anyone. Usually, the honorary degree is the main attraction of the convocation ceremony. The invitation also includes the speech of the guest of honor. This year, the main guest of the convocation will be Padma Ramachandran who is the former chief secretary of the government of Kerala. State Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala will chair the convocation and award diplomas to the students.

The university will award degrees in several disciplines, the details of which are given below:

  • 27 Doctor of Arts
  • 99 Doctorate in Science
  • 14 Doctorate in Commerce
  • 9 Doctorate in Education
  • 34 gold medals
  • 1 doctoral degree in biotechnology
  • 179 rank holders
  • 98 cash prizes

Other than that, the overall performance of the university was good. The percentage of student success was also on the better side.

Source link

About James S. Moore

Check Also

Mangalore University students clash over Savarkar photo issue, three injured

Photos: Spoorthi Ullal Daijiworld Media Network – Mangaluru (MS) Mangaluru, June 11: Groups of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.